ACF.dat vs BCF.dat??What's the differences??

Bader charge density analysis

Moderator: moderators

acfdatbcfdat

ACF.dat vs BCF.dat??What's the differences??

Post by acfdatbcfdat »

Dear all,

I am a beginner of Bader analysis and I have read the instructions at "http://theory.cm.utexas.edu/bader/vasp.php", but I still puzzled by the differences between 'ACF.dat' vs 'BCF.dat' and 'Atomic volume' vs 'Bader volume' ?

Take TiO2 for example,according to a oversimplified ionic model: Ti +4 O -2, valence electrons Ti 4 O 6. Now I want to perform Bader analysis to estimate numerically the amount of electrons redistributed between Ti and O. I use VASP 4.6.31 with PAW-PBE and I have already got the converged AECCAR0, AECCAR1, AECCAR2 and chgsum.pl.

The questions are:
1.What are the differences between 'ACF.dat' vs 'BCF.dat' ? 'Atomic volume' vs 'Bader volume' ?
2. Concerning my example mentioned above, which charg file I should use? so that I can use the charge of Ti in ACF.dat or BCF.dat minus 4, use the charg of O in ACF.dat or BCF.dat minus 6, to get the real velence state :Ti+x O-y?

Thanks a lot!
graeme
Site Admin

Re: ACF.dat vs BCF.dat??What's the differences??

Post by graeme »

The Bader analysis integrates charge around each charge density maximum. There is one Bader volume around each charge density maximum. These are listed in the BCF.dat file; this is the raw output of the calculation.